McKinley Post

Daily news

Live from Downtown Lawrence

Leave a comment

Between the Commas

20140808-205248.jpgWhen I walked into 6News the first day of my internship, I was so nervous that I didn’t eat lunch. I spent the morning getting the lay of the land, the afternoon on a shoot with a reporter at City Hall and all day with a notebook in my hand, trying to figure out technology and protocol. I watched the producer booth the 6 p.m. newscast, then went home.

And threw up.

Now, it’s 11 weeks later. The last day of my internship. I no longer get nervous walking through the doors. And the vomiting has ceased. (For the record, it only happened that one time).

I’ve been thinking all week about this blog post — how to encapsulate a summer’s worth of journalism knowledge and articulate how integral each of the personalities sitting in that newsroom has been to my journalism education in a few paragraphs on a website…

View original post 323 more words

Leave a Reply

