McKinley Post

Daily news

And Then I Remember. (Thoughts on Racing at Burnout’s Edge)

Leave a comment

Like Birds on Trees

IMG_0872 Photo MO 2014

Late afternoon sunlight refracts off Lake Arrowhead, mountains hugging the park’s edges. I put my goggles on for a pre-race practice swim open to all athletes competing in tomorrow’s Olympic distance triathlon.

My feet meet the squishy moss of the lake as I push my legs off the sandy bottom, moving my arms full stretch in front and behind, taking in gorgeous views of the Blue Ridge mountains each time I turn my head to breathe. Dozens of swimming memories enter my thoughts. Memories of the very start, all those swim lessons from long ago that I’m so thankful my parents enabled me to experience. (A forever thank you, Mom and Dad). Memories of the first year on swim team, where I discovered my first Earthly love: the water. I thought of those grueling college sets and the grit that kept us all going. Come to think of it…

View original post 967 more words

Leave a Reply

