McKinley Post

Daily news

Open Water Swimming in London

Leave a comment

Reading, Running, Cycling

Today I was swimming towards the end of a cool-down of a few hundred metres, face deep in the murky brown water, body rolling from side to side as my arms gently glided through the water and the sun shone overhead. And all I was thinking about was just how far I’d come over the course of one summer.

ham lake

Back in May this year I attended my first open water swim session with RG Active at Stoke Newington reservoir. I’d swum in a lake twice before then, neither time had I managed to swim any distance front crawl and I had actively hated it and disliked swimming. I was butterflies-in-the-tummy nervous and spent the whole time before getting into the water and as I got into the water giggling nervously and constantly saying how bad I was at swimming (just in case anyone got the impression I was an expert!)…

View original post 468 more words

Leave a Reply

