McKinley Post

Daily news

Rest, Power, and Possibility

Leave a comment

Tri Fatherhood

izzyrun

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I took it easy this week. I rested Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday entirely and then went for a short swim on Wednesday. I kept it nice and easy – mostly using the pull buoy. Then on Thursday I went for a short ride during lunch. I wanted to ride about 40 minutes all small ring with no real efforts. After all, I’m still recovering from what was a very difficult race considering the heat and terrain. The ride didn’t feel great, but was about what I expected. My head and my legs said yes, my heart, lungs, and stomach still said no. Then on Friday I did another short 1000 yard swim. It felt better than Wednesday’s swim.

Your body has to absorb the training and abuse of racing you put it through. It took me a few years, injuries, and illnesses to learn that…

View original post 558 more words

Leave a Reply

